The 47th Philpa International Rally which was held under the patronage of the Greek National Office of UNESCO, finished on Saturday 15/9/2018 on the lake of Ioannina. The rally started on Thursday 13/9 from Preveza with 45 participants from Greece and abroad (Cyprus, Austria, Switzerland amd Great Britain). 

The competition had 22 special stages in the regularity category and 6 in the Master Trophy (Touring) category.  The special stages had two sub-categories in the Regularity category the "red" category with average speeds up to 50 klms and the "Green" with slightly slower average speeds. Also, for the first time, the participants had the opportunity to compete in the famous Kimi Hill climb, a "super stage" held in Neochori. 

The participants resided in Ioannina in the luxurious Grand Serai Hotel and travelled all over the Ipirus region through the villages Ancient Nicopolis, Filipiada, Aristi, Vitsa, Konitsa, Monodendri, Papigo, Vikos, Aspragelos, Doliani, Kipous, Leptokaria, Miliotades, Tsepelovo and Fragades. 

The gala dinner and awards ceremony was held on Saturday evening in the Grand Serai Hotel with guests from the Ioannina Municipality, and the Zitsa Winery which was a sponsor of the event. 

On Sunday, those who wanted visited the Zitsa Winery and had the opportunity to taste the excellent wines.   

Many thanks are due to the event sponsors Preveza Municipality, Ioannina Municipality, Preveza Chamber of Commerce, Argo Travel. Kapsiohas Cars, Zitsa winery, Honda Cars, E. Koutsikos Insurance, and Zagori. Many thanks to all our usual Communication Sponsors are also due. 

Winners of the Regularity category were:

1st Giannis Katsaounis - Mathios Mansolas (Volkswagen Golf GTi 1979).

2nd Themistoklis Kontaratos - Ioulios Iatrides (Porsche SC 9111980).

3rd Nikos Arvanitis - Ioanna Haralambaki (Lancia Fulvia 1,3 S Coupe 1972).


Winners in the TrophyTour category were:

1st Martin Della Pietra - Gabrielle Della Pietra (Opel Manta GSI 1985).

2nd Petros Kehagioglou - Haralambos Kehagioglou (VW Golf 1983).

3rd Dimitris Tsimis - Theodora Kasouni (Mercedes-Benz 230SL 1966).